Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Sinatra Tribute Album to Possibly Be the Worst Ever

The Tag line reads

From the team that brought you "We Wish You A Metal Xmas" comes "SIN-atra", heavy metal's tribute to the genius of Frank Sinatra.
And just like movies that use similar taglines this has potential to include a high level of suck. Partly because I hate Fran Sinatra's brand of music with a passion and then to have it butchered by mostly has-beens in the metal community just heralds torture to the ear drums. Not to mention the douchey name of Sin-atra. The only intriguing thing about this would be Devin Townsend's rendition of New York, New York but I bet it's going to be done in the style of Strapping Young Lad which means it's going to be a chaotic mess(no I'm not a Devin Townsend fanboy). But hey I guess I'm just not classy enough to appreciate this, just like when Pat Boone did the reverse years ago. Track listing after the jump.

01. New York, New York (Devin Townsend)
02. I've Got You Under My Skin (Glenn Hughes)
03. Summerwind (Geoff Tate)
04. It Was A Very Good Year (Dee Snider)
05. Witchcraft (Tim "Ripper" Owens)
06. Fly Me To The Moon (Robin Zander)
07. Lady Is A Tramp (Eric Martin)
08. I've Got The World On A String (Doug Pinnick)
09. Love And Marriage (Elias Soriano)
10. Strangers In The Night (Joey Belladonna)
11. High Hopes (Franky Perez)
12. That's Life (Jani Lane)

April 5th is the release date. Report back with how fantabulous this cd is if any of you are adventourous enough to get it.

1 comment:

The Ranter said...

How can "Strangers in the Night" be anything but the most awesome with Joey Belladonna on the microphone?